Computer Science

Courses in Computer Science

Courses banner

Welcome to all new and continuing students in the Department of Computer Science!

New students, you have selected an outstanding department to be affiliated with since the department is getting better each year. Our student enrollments continue to increase at both the undergraduate and graduate level, the demand for CS courses continues to be high, and in order to stay current in the field of computer science we are continually revising the curriculum to be state-of-the-art. We are meeting those challenges by recruiting for additional faculty members whose research also contributes to those efforts and allows us to offer more courses.

In keeping with our educational mission we continue to excel in teaching and in research. Five of our faculty members, Ken Joy, Norm Matloff, Biswanath Mukherjee, Ron Olsson, and Richard Walters, are recipients of the Distinguished Teaching Award. The recipients were selected by the Academic Senate in recognition of their excellence in teaching. We are proud to have them as members of our faculty. They are an example of the level of teaching you will be exposed to.

The department’s faculty and staff look forward to working with you and hope that you will enjoy and take advantage of the opportunities available to you here at UC Davis and in the Computer Science Department.

We want to assist you in any we can. If you should experience any problems with how a computer science course is being handled, please do not hesitate to let us know. You can contact me or the Department Manager, Meshell Louderman (, (530) 752-7005), with any concerns you may have. Your concerns or comments will be treated in confidence.

Have a great year!

Nina Amenta
Professor and Chair