## PRESS RELEASE FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

The faculty of the UC Davis physics department held an emergency faculty meeting in the late afternoon of Monday Nov. 21 to discuss the response to the recent pepper-spraying incident on campus. This followed extensive informal discussions among faculty, students, and staff, including an "open house" in the chair's office earlier that day.

The following actions were taken:

- The physics faculty voted *unanimously* to issue an apology to students and post it on the department web page. A copy of this statement is attached.
- A majority of the Faculty of the UC Davis physics department also signed a Letter calling for the resignation of UC Davis Chancellor Linda Katehi. A copy of this letter is also attached.

These actions were not taken lightly, and followed serious and substantive deliberation and debate on the issues.

An Open Letter to UC Davis Students from the Faculty of Physics

The members of the Physics Faculty were deeply disturbed by the images and videos showing peaceful and non-threatening protesters being pepper-sprayed by police on our campus. The Faculty of a university must take responsibility for making sure that the campus environment ensures student safety, encourages their intellectual growth, and promotes the active, peaceful expression of opinions on the key issues of our day. This viewpoint is expressed in our "Principles of Community":

We affirm the right of freedom of expression within our community and affirm our commitment to the highest standards of **civility** and decency towards all.

The Department Faculty regrets the incidents of last week. We believe the actions of the police were not consistent with these principles, and that final responsibility for this incident rests with the Chancellor. The restraint shown by the students in their response, on the other hand, is in keeping with the highest standards of conduct and you should feel justifiably proud.

Please accept our sincere apology for this incident. We will do all we can to assure that our Principles of Community are fully adhered to in the future by everyone on our campus.

## Dear Chancellor Katehi:

With a heavy heart and substantial deliberation, we the undersigned faculty of the UC Davis physics department send you this letter expressing our lack of confidence in your leadership and calling for your prompt resignation in the wake of the outrageous, unnecessary, and brutal pepper spraying episode on campus Friday, Nov. 18

The reasons for this are as follows.

- The demonstrations were nonviolent, and the student encampments posed no threat to the university community. The outcomes of sending in police in Oakland, Berkeley, New York City, Portland, and Seattle should have led you to exhaust all other options before resorting to police action.
- Authorizing force after a single day of encampments constitutes a gross violation of the UC Davis principles of community, especially the commitment to civility: "We affirm the right of freedom of expression within our community and affirm our commitment to the highest standards of civility and decency towards all."
- Your response in the aftermath of these incidents has failed to restore trust in your leadership in the university community.

We have appreciated your leadership during these difficult times on working to maintain and enhance excellence at UC Davis. However, this incident and the inadequacy of your response to it has already irreparably damaged the image of UC Davis and caused the faculty, students, parents, and alumni of UC Davis to lose confidence in your leadership. At this point we feel that the best thing that you can do for this university is to take full responsibility and resign immediately. Our campus community deserves a fresh start.

## Sincerely,

Andreas Albrecht	James P. Crutchfield	Lloyd Knox
(department chair)	Glen Erickson	Dick Lander
Marusa Bradac	Chris Fassnacht	Lori Lubin
Steve Carlip	Daniel Ferenc	Markus Luty
Hsin-Chia Cheng	Ching Fong	Michael Mulhearn
Maxwell Chertok	Giulia Galli	Wendel Potter
John Conway	Nemanja Kaloper	Sergey Savrasov
Daniel Cox	Joe Kiskis	Richard Scalettar

Robert Svoboda John Terning Mani Tripathi David Webb David Wittman Dong Yu Gergely Zimanyi