PhD alum Divya Chitimalla (now at Akamai), postdoctoral researcher Koteswararao Kopndepu (now at University of Bristol, UK), Professor Luca Valcaraenghi (at Scoula Superiore Sant’ Anna, Pisa, Italy), Adjunct Professor Massimo Tornatore, and Distinguished Professor Biswanath Mukherjee win the 2018 Charles Kao Award for their paper “5G Fronthaul–Latency and Jitter Studies of CPRI Over Ethernet”, IEEE Journal of Optical Communications & Networking, Vol. 9, No. 2, pp. 172-182, February 2017.   The award will be presented at the Optical Fiber Communications conference (OFC 2019) in San Diego, CA.