Distinguished Professor Biswanath Mukherjee, Adjunct Professor Massimo Tornatore, and Ph.D. student Yu Wu from the University of California, Davis and Professor Yongli Zhao from Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications, P.R. China have won the TAOS Best Paper Award at the “IEEE Globecom 2017 Optical Networks and Systems” (ONS) Symposium for the paper entitled “TDM EPON Fronthaul Upstream Capacity Improvement Via Traffic Classification and Sifting”.